Fluidr
about   tools   help   Y   Q   a         b   n   l
User / Alexander Dülks
Alexander Dülks / 2,776 items

  • DESCRIPTION
  • COMMENT
  • MAP
  • O
  • L
  • M

Vitrine
Graubner Pavilion / Graubner Pavillon
Museum Insel Hombroich, Neuss

"[...] In 1982, the Düsseldorf real estate entrepreneur Karl-Heinrich Müller (1936–2007) was able to purchase an almost 30,000 square meter overgrown meadow landscape on the Erft, a south-western tributary of the Rhine. Here he began to work with several visual artists for his art collection and for the design of the site. The buildings were planned by the Düsseldorf sculptor Erwin Heerich (1922–2004). The Düsseldorf architect H. Hermann Müller was responsible for the execution. [...]" (Translated from www.db-bauzeitung.de )


"[...] Der Düsseldorfer Immobilien-Unternehmer Karl-Heinrich Müller (1936–2007) konnte 1982 eine verwilderte, fast 30.000 Quadratmeter große Auenlandschaft an der Erft, einem südwestlichen Nebenfluss des Rheins, erwerben. Hier begann er für seine Kunstsammlung und zur Gestaltung des Geländes mit mehreren bildenden Künstlern zusammenzuarbeiten. Die Bauten plante der Düsseldorfer Bildhauer Erwin Heerich (1922–2004). Für die Ausführung verantwortlich war der Düsseldorfer Architekt H. Hermann Müller. [...]" (www.db-bauzeitung.de)

Photo in Explore 01.05.2022

Tags:   Neuss Architektur art leer Vitrine Geometrie empty weiß Symmetrie showcase Kunst glass cabinet Museum Museum Insel Hombroich 2021 architecture Erwin Heerich symmetry Hombroich geometry white North Rhine-Westphalia Germany Graubner Pavillon Graubner Pavilion

  • DESCRIPTION
  • COMMENT
  • MAP
  • O
  • L
  • M

Tower/Turm
Architect: Erwin Heerich, 1987-1989
Museum Insel Hombroich, Neuss

"The Insel Hombroich Foundation is a German arts foundation based in Neuss. [...]
The non-profit cultural foundation of the state of North Rhine-Westphalia was established in November 1996 [...].
According to its self-image, the foundation is the sponsor of a "cultural space" or "cultural laboratory" in which the Museum Insel Hombroich, which has been in existence since 1982, comes together with nature, buildings such as the villa Haus Hombroich (built in 1816 and listed as a historical monument with a strictly axial garden from 1820) and collection items, with a few studios both in the museum area and at the neighboring Raketenstation Hombroich. [...]"
(Translated from German Wikipedia entry)

"Die Stiftung Insel Hombroich ist eine deutsche Kunststiftung mit Sitz in Neuss. [...]
Die gemeinnützige Kulturstiftung des Landes Nordrhein-Westfalen entstand im November 1996 [...].
Ihrem Selbstverständnis nach ist die Stiftung Träger eines „Kulturraumes“ oder „Kulturlabors“, in dem sich das seit 1982 entstandene Museum Insel Hombroich mit Natur, Gebäuden wie der 1816 errichteten und unter Denkmalschutz stehendem Villa mit streng axial angelegten Garten von 1820 Haus Hombroich und Sammlungsstücken zusammenfindet, mit einigen Ateliers sowohl im Museumsbereich als auch auf der benachbarten Raketenstation Hombroich. [...]"
(Wikipedia)

Photo in Explore 15.04.2022

Tags:   Turm Architektur art Geometrie weiß Symmetrie Kunst symmetry Neuss tower Hombroich Museum Insel Hombroich architecture Erwin Heerich 2021 Museum geometry white North Rhine-Westphalia Germany

  • DESCRIPTION
  • COMMENT
  • MAP
  • O
  • L
  • M

Seidenweberhaus
Architects Max Sippel / Bruno Trubert* / Rolf Klein / Manfred Oppmann / Otmar Nentwig, 1972–1976
Krefeld, Germany

"Angular geometric shapes like the hexagon seem to dominate the building of the event centre. Floors lie irregularly on top of each other and are supported by pillars. Projections and recesses alternate and create galleries. Concrete panels design the façade and their flattened edges make them almost round. Horizontal bands of windows design the individual floors and give the building a more tranquil appearance.
Scheduled for demolition, however there is a temporary extension to using the current building. There are plans for a new city hall on the site." (www.sosbrutalism.org/cms/15802395#15931369)


*Bruno Trubert, the photographer's grandfather, was about to retire at the time of the project and was not involved in the design, but only in the construction management.


Photo in Explore 31.01.2022

Tags:   Beton Architektur Hexagon Manfred Oppmann Rolf Klein 70s street lamp 70er Otmar Nentwig brutalism stairs s/w Krefeld monochrome monochrom Max Sippel Treppe Straßenlaterne Theaterplatz Seidenweberhaus architecture Brutalismus concrete 2021 b/w 1976 North Rhine-Westphalia Germany Bruno Trubert

  • DESCRIPTION
  • COMMENT
  • MAP
  • O
  • L
  • M

Mémorial de Verdun
"The Verdun Memorial in [the destroyed village of] Fleury-devant-Douaumont is a museum and memorial for the Verdun battlefields.

In 1951 the National Committee in Memory of Verdun (C.N.S.V.) was founded, whose president is Maurice Genevoix, longtime secretary of the French Academy and war veteran of the First World War. On October 23, 1960, he initiated the construction of the memorial, which was inaugurated by André Duvillard, Minister for Veterans Affairs, on September 17, 1967. The museum is located around six kilometres northeast of Verdun.

Remodeling and reopening
From 2013 to February 2016 the museum was closed for renovation. The museum reopened its doors to the public on February 22, 2016, on the 100th anniversary of the beginning of the Battle of Verdun.
On May 29, 2016, the reopened museum was the focus of the commemoration celebrations for the 100th anniversary of the Battle of Verdun, in which French President François Hollande and German Chancellor Angela Merkel took part. [...]"
(Translated from German Wikipedia entry)


"The idea behind the redesign of the architecture and layout of the museum was based on three premises:
– the museum should reflect a Franco-German battle rather than a battle seen mainly from the French side;
– the museum is located in the heart of the battlefield;
– the museum was the brainchild of Verdun veterans and was designed as a memorial.

The total redesign of the museum was spearheaded by the Société d’équipement du bassin lorrain (SEBL) at the request of the Comité national du souvenir de Verdun (CNSV), a not-for-profit association with public benefit status which is responsible for the Verdun Memorial Museum.
Two consultants worked on the project – the Agence Brochet Lajus Pueyo (building and landscaping) and the Agence Le Conte / Noirot (museum layout).
Édith Desrousseaux de Medrano, from the Agence Sources, provided the curatorship for the new permanent exhibition."
(memorial-verdun.fr/en/museumcollections/the-project-in-de...)


Photo in Explore 12.12.2021

Tags:   Fleury-devant-Douaumont battlefield memorial Architektur Mahnmal Erster Weltkrieg Verdun Mémorial de Verdun Schlachtfeld Lorraine Wolke cloud WW I 2021 monochrom monochrome Maurice Genevoix Museum Brochet Lajus Pueyo architects First World War architecture s/w Verdun Memorial Gedenkstätte b/w Lothringen France

  • DESCRIPTION
  • COMMENT
  • MAP
  • O
  • L
  • M

Back to serious or from blasphemy to heresy

"The Church of Saint Joan of Arc (French: L'église Sainte-Jeanne-d'Arc) is a Catholic church in the city centre of Rouen, northern France.
The church of Saint Joan of Arc was completed in 1979 in the centre of the ancient market square, known as the Place du Vieux-Marché, the place where Joan of Arc was burned at the stake for heresy in 1431. A small garden, Le Bouchet, which is outside and to the north of the church marks the exact spot.
The modern church Sainte-Jeanne d'Arc and the adjacent market halls were designed by the architect Louis Arretche, who was commissioned in 1969. The sweeping curves of the structure are meant to evoke both the flames that consumed Joan of Arc and an overturned longship. Many early Christian churches were designed in the shape of an overturned boat. The market halls simultaneously resemble smaller overturned boats and fish with gaping mouths, which are also rich Christian symbols. The tiled roof echoes this theme and forms a covered walkway over the square." (Wikipedia)

It is not without reason that you usually only see photos from the inside of the church, because the complex, which continuously extends into the market halls on the one side and the marketplace roof on the other, is not easy to photograph from the outside.

Photo in Explore 21.10.2021

Tags:   France Kreuz market Normandy 2021 church market place Markt Kirchenfenster Joan of Arc Rouen Louis Arretche architecture Architektur Church of Saint Joan of Arc Frankreich Marktplatz Place du Vieux-Marché Église Sainte-Jeanne-d'Arc church window cross Normandie Jeanne d'Arc Johanna von Orléans Kirche Brutalismus brutalism concrete Beton


0.2%